The Dominican Republic – National Flag

The Dominican Republic is a part of the Island of Hispaniola. It was originally inhabited by the Arawak people. On December 6, 1492, Christopher Columbus Landed on the northwestern part of the Island and claimed it for Spain.

The flag of the Dominican Republic has a white cross dividing four rectangles of blue and red. In the center of the flag is the nation’s coat of arms. The Dominican Republic’s flag was adopted on November 6, 1863.


The Dominican Republic

National Flag